• Time
  • 9:00 AM to 8:00 PM (Monday -Sunday) with appointments
  • Email
  • info@ayurvedabliss.com.au

Principles of Ayurveda

The principles of Ayurveda, rooted in ancient Indian philosophy and wisdom, provide a comprehensive framework for understanding health, disease and the human body. Here are the key principles of Ayurveda:

1. Five Elements (Pancha Mahabhutas):

  • Ayurveda posits that everything in the universe, including the human body, is composed of five fundamental elements: earth (Prithvi), water (Jala), fire (Tejas), air (Vayu), and ether (Akasha).
  • These elements combine to form three primary energies or doshas: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha.

2. Three Doshas:

  • Vata: Comprised of air and ether, Vata governs movement, communication and creativity. Its qualities include dry, light, cold, rough, and mobile.
  • Pitta: Formed by fire and water, Pitta governs metabolism, digestion, and transformation. Its qualities include hot, sharp, oily, light, and penetrating.
  • Kapha: Composed of earth and water, Kapha governs structure, stability, and lubrication. Its qualities include heavy, slow, cold, oily, and stable.

3. Individual Constitution (Prakriti):

  • Every individual is born with a unique combination of the three doshas, known as their Prakriti or natural constitution. Understanding one’s Prakriti helps in personalised wellness management.

4. Balance and Imbalance:

  • Health in Ayurveda is seen as a state of balance among the doshas, while disease arises from an imbalance or disturbance in their proportions.
  • Ayurvedic practices aim to restore balance and harmony within the body to prevent and treat illnesses.

5. Dhatus (Tissues) and Malas (Wastes):

  • Ayurveda identifies seven bodily tissues (dhatus): plasma, blood, muscle, fat, bone, marrow, and reproductive tissue. These tissues are nourished sequentially and are interconnected.
  • Malas refer to the waste products of metabolism, including urine, feces, and sweat. Proper elimination of malas is crucial for maintaining health.

6. Agni (Digestive Fire):

  • Agni represents the digestive fire responsible for transforming food into nutrients and energy. It also governs metabolic processes, immunity and mental clarity.
  • Balanced agni is essential for good health, while impaired agni can lead to digestive issues and toxin accumulation.

7. Ama (Toxins):

  • Ama refers to undigested or improperly metabolised substances in the body. It is considered a root cause of disease in Ayurveda.
  • Ayurvedic therapies aim to eliminate ama through purification treatments (Panchakarma) and dietary modifications.

8. Prana (Life Force) and Ojas (Vitality):

  • Prana is the life force or vital energy that sustains all living beings. It governs respiration, circulation and sensory perception.
  • Ojas is the subtle essence of vitality and immunity. It is derived from the proper digestion of food and supports overall health and well-being.

9. Holistic Health:

  • Ayurveda views health as a state of harmony between the body, mind and spirit. It emphasise holistic well-being, encompassing physical, mental, emotional and spiritual aspects.

10. Individualised Approach:

  • Ayurvedic treatments and lifestyle recommendations are tailored to an individual’s unique constitution, imbalances and specific health concerns.

By understanding and applying these principles, Ayurveda offers a comprehensive approach to achieving optimal health and well-being.

Are you interested to know more how Ayurvedic principles are related with your problems ,contact us just one click away Ayurveda Bliss(Ayurveda Sydney)

+61 -451818950


  • 9:00 AM to 8:00 PM (Monday -Sunday) with appointments